x

I get "Please verify the Zip Code" when I try to enter Card on File for Canadian customers

I am new to Square. I am in the US and am wanting to use Square to process 3 recurring credit card transactions per month (total $4,000). I have signed agreements from each customer. When I try to add the card to their customer records, I get "Please verify the Zip Code" on every account. I know the zip codes are good because they are the same cards I was processing at PaySimple for the past 3 years. What other factor(s) could be blocking me? --- Thanks in advance for your help.

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
Alumni

Hi @seanclouse - This definitely sounds weird! I know some people have got around the zip code issue by entering "00000." Can you try that and let us know if that works? 

Message 2 of 14

I never got this to work.  The solution, for anyone else who encounters this, was to send an Invoice to the customer with the option for them to allow us to store the Card Info.  They were able to enter the same information and get it to work.  Once the invoice was paid, I made a duplicate using that invoice and created a recurring invoice using that Card as the payment method.  I *think* all is good.  I'll know more on June 2nd...

Message 3 of 14
Admin

Hey @seanclouse, thanks for circling back and sorry to hear that you're still encountering trouble with this invoice.

I went to take another look at this and I can see that you were able to get in touch with our Customer Success Team. I can't access and share payment-specifics here—but if anything else comes up in terms of processing or depositing, please let the team member assisting with your case know. They'll be able to take a deeper dive into specifics and escalate internally if needed. Hope everything got cleared up!

️ Tom | he/him
Seller Community Manager | Square, Inc.
Find step-by-step help in our Support Center
Message 4 of 14