x
Alumni

2017 Reflections & Book Recommendations for 2018

As 2017 is coming to a close, we’re having a lot of discussions at Square about 2018 goals and planning. I personally don’t like to reserve goal setting for one time of year (if you’re going to change/start doing something in May, go for it! Don’t wait until January to make resolutions.), but the end of the year can be a powerful time to set intention for new initiatives. Equally important, you can spend time reflecting on what you’ve accomplished and what you can improve for the new year.

Probably not unrelated, I’m also a forever student of life. This means that I value endless learning with books! I try to read as much as possible for new processes, tips and tricks, and general life advice.

I wanted to share some of my favorite books from 2017 that have helped me grow both professionally and personally. Some I’ve gotten around to, others are on my list for the new year (whoops).

I’d love to hear you book recommendations. Did you find some valuable reads in 2017? What books are on your list for 2018? I’ve linked my picks from local bookstores across the country since we should all be supporting local business 😄

Tribe of Mentors: Short Life Advice from the Best in the World by Tim Ferris

I’m a strong believer in mentorship, but mentors can come in so many shapes and forms. Many of us think of mentors as a strong one on one relationship. However, I’ve found some of my most powerful “mentors” come from reading. I have found tips from highly successful people in many different forums. Tim Ferris helpfully compiled some of these tips in his latest book. Sounds like the perfect way to pick up some new best practices.

In the Company of Women: Inspiration and Advice from over 100 Makers, Artists, and Entrepreneurs by Grace Bonney