x

How can I automatically apply a discount to specific items?

[The title of this thread has been edited from the original: Running a sale on specific items not possible?]

So the holidays are upon us and it seems that the only way I can have a sale in my store is to apply a % off at the register. If I wish to have different items on sale at different percentages, I will need to remember to manually apply the discount to each item as I ring up each customer. If I wish to sell an item at a specific sale price it looks like my only option is to change the regular selling price for each sale item. The sales slip will not reflect the regular price with the new price will not be identified as a SALE price. Please correct me if I am wrong. I've been using Square for 4 years now and am mostly pleased but this really needs to be addressed. Please add the ability to have a sale price and don't forget to allow us to set a date range that this price is in effect. One input box with SALE PRICE, one input for START DATE and one for END DATE. I would also add a toggle button for on/off in case someone simply wants to turn the sale on/off manually instead of defining a start/end date. Thank you.

Message 1 of 10
1 Best Answer
Admin

Best Answer

Hey @DragonStar!

Thanks for posting in the Seller Community.

From discounts in the Online Dashboard you should be able to create a discount, choose a time frame, and then make sure it is only applied automatically to specific items in the cart. I believe this is what you're asking for. That way you can add individual items to the cart, and if they have different discounts, the discounts will only be automatically applied to the specific item rather than the entire cart. 

For more information take a look at this Community post where a seller had a similar question. I hope this information is helpful. If I'm not answering your question, please let me know so I can look into this further. 

️ Isabelle | she/her