x

How do I add the google_product_category to the items in my item library?

I've set up my Square site and built my item library.  I'm using Facebook Pixel to import the item library into a Facebook catalog.  I'm getting an error that states the google_product_category is missing.  How do I add that to my items?

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10

HI, a quick Google search found this support page

https://support.google.com/merchants/answer/6324436?hl=en

Hope This Helps!
TERRI
Message 2 of 11

That gives me the list of what the product categories are, but not where in my item's data to add the relevant information.  For example, this is the google product category many of my item's fall into.  But, I don't see anywhere in the details of my item to put the code that would reference this.  I'm pretty new to Square so not certain if this goes in one of the SEO boxes, or if there's another location where this designation needs to be added.

194 Apparel & Accessories Jewelry Earrings
Message 3 of 11

HI, in this case your store is just the placeholder.  Facebook working with Google are 2 integrations.   This is a Google Merchant situation.  Maybe posting on their Community page? 

how to fix invalid

https://support.google.com/merchants/answer/6239371?hl=en

Hope This Helps!
TERRI
Message 4 of 11
Beta Member

It’s not a google problem. It’s square. Shopify has a place on their websites to put in the google product category. 

Message 5 of 11

HI, Square Product Listings

https://squareup.com/help/us/en/article/7386-set-up-google-product-listings-on-square

Hope This Helps!
TERRI
Message 6 of 11
Beta Member

I have had same inquiry with square support and they don’t know anything about it!  I told them that their engineers need to get with Facebook engineers and get something fixed. I would suggest calling square support and the more people inquire about it, they may fix it. Shopify has a specific place for it on there website. 

Message 7 of 11
Beta Member