x

paying out credit card tips

If my employees want their credit card tips converted to cash, can I pay them out what their credit tips are for that day/ week in cash?

(When i worked as a waitress, we would gather all our CC slips, enter the tip totals in the POS after our shift, and at the end of the night the mgr, would "cash us out" by giving us our CC tips.) (and they discreetly took the 2% CC processing fees out of that total).

I own a spa, but employees want to know if they can get their tips in cash-just like at a restaurant. How do I this??

Message 1 of 14
1 Best Answer
Super Seller

Best Answer

@Etemple This is really dependent on how you want to do the accounting part of this.  Cashing out tips is pretty common in the business.  The big thing with cashing out your employees is to make sure to keep accounting for IRS reporting purposes for income for your employees.  You also have to withhold the appropriate amount of taxes etc. for the tips from each of their regular paychecks. 

According to the IRS, "Employers are required to retain employee tip reports.  Employers are also required to withhold taxes (including income taxes and the employee’s share of social security tax and Medicare tax) based upon wages and tip income received by the employee and to deposit this tax.  In addition, employers are required to pay the employer share of social security and Medicare taxes based on the total wages paid to tipped employees as well as the reported tip income. This information and tax is finally reported to the IRS on the appropriate forms by the employer."