x

Tracking Events with Google Analytics

I am new to Weebly and would like to add GA event tracking to some files we're offering for download. That means I need to add parameters to the anchor tag, but I can't see a way to get into the code to add them. Is this possible?

Here's an example:

http://toolkit.solarfutures.org/introducing-solar-energy.html

I want to track downloads of all of the files on this page. So I'd like to format the download link like this:

<a onClick="ga('send', 'event', 'PDFfile', 'Downloaded', 'IntroSolar-K-2', '0');" href="http://toolkit.solarfutures.org/uploads/6/6/0/7/66070439/k-2_solar_energy.pdf">

Is there a way to add these parameters? I don't seem to have any code access at all.

Thanks,

~ Laura at GRID Alternatives

Message 1 of 11
1 Best Answer
Square

Best Answer

Yes, you can add all kinds of code to the Embed Code element - Javascript, HTML, CSS, etc.

View Best Answer >

Message 2 of 11
10 REPLIES 10

Hey there Laura! 

It looks like you'll want to use an Embed Code element to make the link from custom code. I'm not a coder myself, however, so some of our Community members can likely offer a more detailed explanation.

Message 2 of 11

Thanks, Queso. So the "Embed Code" element works for any kind of code, not just embeds?

Message 2 of 11
Square

Best Answer

Yes, you can add all kinds of code to the Embed Code element - Javascript, HTML, CSS, etc.

Message 2 of 11

Hi Adam,

How do you attach the embed code to a button? I.e. I want to add a GA tag to the button so I can track how many people click on the button. I would usually add the tag code to the file, but in weebly developer mode- I cant find the file uploads anywhere!

There seem to be no answers to this on the entire internet, please help!

Cheers,

Emma

Message 2 of 11
Square

I figured you might to want to code a button in an Embed Code element so you can add your Google tag code to it like that.