x

How do I get the receipt screen to pop up automatically after signature?

I'm new to Square.  Just got the device.  I swiped my own card to test it by sending $1.  Once I signed, the app said "all done."  I thought there is supposed to be a screen that automatically pops up asking if the customer wants to put in an email or text to get their receipt.  Is there a setting I need to toggle?  I can't find it.

Message 1 of 14
1 Best Answer

Best Answer

Under Settings, Signature and Receipt, make sure the option 'Skip receipt screen' is off.

View Best Answer >

Message 2 of 14
13 REPLIES 13

Best Answer

Under Settings, Signature and Receipt, make sure the option 'Skip receipt screen' is off.

Message 2 of 14

I have the SKIP RECEIPT SCREEN turned OFF, but sometimes the receipt screen doesn't pop up.  It's very annoying and innconvenient to have to go into activity and do a NEW RECEIPT when it doesn't pop up. Is this just another issue with Square POS?

Message 3 of 14

One other thing I noticed is when customer has email-receipts enabled (they entered email adress at some square-pos, not necessarily yours) it (can) skip the receipt screen....

Message 4 of 14
Square Community Moderator

@Rolf is correct here (thanks for the response!)

@SOSN  If your customer has provided an email address to receive a receipt from any Square seller in the past, they will not need to enter their contact information and will receive an automatic receipt. The information that a customer enters for their receipt is linked to the payment card.

This is intended behavior, as some folks have long email addresses and it would be pretty time consuming to have to enter it for every Square payment. 

Message 5 of 14

Suggestion: 

If an automatic receipt is sent, notify the seller somehow, so sellers know it has been sent.

1. Display screen that says receipt sent to seller at e.g., e**@gmail.com, instead of the receipt screen.

2. Note it in the transactions detail that a receipt was sent.