x

Standard reader disconnect and reconnect during tarnsaction

I am an artist doing outdoor shows. I have the square app running all day in a fixed location. If there is a low in selling activity and I now have a sale come in, while keying in the item I am disrupted by the card reader reconecting, I am guessing because it has been sitting for a while it disconnects. It is very frustrating because it is a little slow but I also loose my keyboard from being on top so I have to bring it back up and then place the cursor back where it left off. Is there anyway to stop this from happening? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Scott

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4

Hello @SFA

When you aren't using the Contactless and Chip Card Reader it will go into sleep mode to conserve power. It will wake itself up out of sleep mode when you get ready to make a sale.

The only way to keep this from happening is to have a USB connection to the reader. Which would require a Square Stand and the dock for the Contactless and Chip Card Reader. 

If you still have questions please feel free to reach out to me. I'm always happy to help out. 😀

Message 2 of 5

Thanks Chad, your help is very much appreacited. Yes, I do not have the chip reader. I have thought about the stand and reader in the past. My problem with having the stand is it only has positive stops for swival at 180* and I am not setup for that to be comfortable, my customers are off to the side. If the swival was stiffer I could probably make it work. I use an Ipad4 for my outdoor sales. Instead of using it and the stand could this be done using Bluetooth or getting a Lightning cable to USB adapter to run the reader? Would either of those make the reader stay alive?

Thanks Chad for your help. 

Message 3 of 5