x
Beta Member

Contactless Reader Bluetooth drop out

I have been using Square Contactless payments for more than two years now.  It is paired to my Samsung Galaxy S6 phone.

One frustration is its inability to maintain a continuous bluetooth connection. I regularlly find two issues:

1)   While the app on my phone says "Reader ready" when I press  "Charge $xx.xx"  the green light does not come on on the reader until after a delay of around 15 seconds.

2) Sometimes the app says "Press button reader to connect..." and this can be as little as 2 or 3 seconds after I have just succesfully processed a Contactless payment.   Then maybe 5 seconds later without doing anything it says "Reader ready".

Square help says perhaps Reader is too far from the phone etc but thay are kept in the same jeans pocket so that is not the issue!

I really love the Contactless payments reader but the flaky bluetooth connection is very frustrating. My phone seems to have no problem maintaining a solid bluetooth connection with other devices but I do ensure no other devices are nearby when I am using the Contactless Reader.

Anyone else have similar issues? Any best practices for phone settings etc that might help?

Thanks in advance,  Graham

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Admin

Hey @GrahamB,

Thanks for getting in touch and sorry to hear you're having trouble using Square on Android.

Without looking into your specific account and operating environment, what you're describing is something we occasionally see on Android devices and can be due to a number of things, such as the version of Android you're using, whether you've been regularly updating the app, the speed of the internet connection, your device storage space, other bluetooth devices interfering etc.