x

Battery going bad in Chip card reader?

I have an iPad and Stand, so obciously I've had to find another way to keep things running.  I've always kept a back up Swiper and Chip card reader on hand, just in case.  I've noticed, though, that even after fully charging the Chip reader, it's dead within an hour.  Is this a known issue or is mine just dying?  I'm trying to avoid uneccessarily spending money while deciding what our next step will be moving forward.  Thanks for any help anyone can offer!

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12

How long have you had yours?  Maybe we got a bad batch?  I am new to Square and just received my chip reader/swipe device.  I can’t seem to keep it charged.  It gave me a green light, I tested it once, tried again, wouldn’t work.  Finally plugged it in again and it worked after charging again.  Can’t get Square to respond by email and I needed it for tomorrow evening. Frustrating. 

Message 2 of 13

I've had mine for a few months, so not long.  Shoot, it does look like a bad batch. 

Message 3 of 13
Alumni

Hey all! Really sorry to hear about the trouble you've been having with the Contactless + Chip Reader.

@LoriB - If you didn't see it already, it looks like a team member was able to follow up with you via email with some steps to resolve. 👍🏼

@SabrinaM - Feel free to reach out to our Support team as well and they'll be able to advise on any next steps. Since you've only had it a few months, it sounds like you should still be under warranty.

Let me know if you have any further questions!

Puka - She/They
Seller Community UX Designer
Message 4 of 13

Yeah I am in the same boat. Had mine a month or two and now when I try to charge it does the charge lights once then gives a red light and fails to charge. I also have to forget the contactless chip reader on a regular basis and reactivate it for it to function.

Message 5 of 13