x

How to work with no theme or template with original Weebly editor?

Is it possible to create a Weebly page/site from scratch?   i.e. Not use a template or layout but just by dragging elements to the page.

I've been using Weebly for a few years but often find the layouts or themes can be very restricting.

I've searched for an answer to this question through Google etc. but so far no success.

Any help greatly appreciated

Art.

Message 1 of 14
1 Best Answer
Square

Best Answer

You can kind of start from scratch by adding pages and deleting all of the ones with the Weebly template. I believe a brand new page would have a header image and a headline element, but the rest of the content should be blank. Click Pages, Add Page on the left, choose Standard page, name it and decide if you want header to show, then click Done. 

If you want to delete the headline element hover over it and click the X in the right hand corner. To change the background image click on it and Edit Background.

Hope this helps!

View Best Answer >

Message 5 of 14
13 REPLIES 13

Hello, and welcome to the Community!

Where the templates for elements are concerned, you can simply delete the pre-placed elements on any page with them, as they're all customizable. For Themes, however, you do need to have one in order to create the site. However, the pre-set pages and elements that come with some themes aren't required, so you can delete those and create your own if you like.

Message 2 of 14

Thanks for the info.   I'll give it a go!!

Art

Message 3 of 14

booooo we want start from scratch like WIX does
Message 4 of 14
Square

Best Answer

You can kind of start from scratch by adding pages and deleting all of the ones with the Weebly template. I believe a brand new page would have a header image and a headline element, but the rest of the content should be blank. Click Pages, Add Page on the left, choose Standard page, name it and decide if you want header to show, then click Done.