x

Receive Bulk to Sell Individually

I'm new to Square for Retail and migrating from QB POS. For most of our inventory, we purchase items in bulk and sell individually. The pricing may vary from unit to unit. I'm thinking that I can receive the bulk inventory as an item and then create variations for each of the individual units and update the price as needed. Would this be the best workflow or are there alternative options? Can this be done through spreadsheets and import/export more easily?

I.e.

Receive qty 20 of SKU 123

Sell as unit 123-1, 123-2, 123-3 ... 123-20

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Super Seller

This is exactly how we buy a good amount of our items. We receive and sell them by the piece even though we purchase them by weight. We just figure out the individual price for that item.

If the individual items you are selling are different prices, then you would create a variation for each.

So, for example we sell Rose Quartz Chunks that we purchased $30per kg

Individually the listing would look something like this.

Unit 1: Rose Quartz .12kg/3" 

Unit 2: Rose Quartz .25kg/4"

Each one of these would get a price.

Sometimes I do a price for a range of weight and that would look like this:

Unit1: Rose Quartz .15-.19kg/2-3"

Hope this helps.

Dina
Co-Owner Amityville Apothecary
www.shopamityvilleapothecary.com
Instagram | TikTok @AmityvilleApothecary

Podcast: Apothecary After Dark (YouTube & Spotify)
Message 2 of 4

Thanks! That is similar to what I am wanting to accomplish. Do you break it all out at once or just receive in the bulk and then break it out later as needed as varients?

Something like receiving 5 kg Rose Quartz, then later breaking it into Unit 1 .12kg, Unit 2 .25kg ...etc

Message 3 of 4
Super Seller

@jvanrees ;

Square has an option for Selling by units.  So you have one stock item that is sold in different quantities.